jeudi 16 octobre 2014

Collection of The System

Collection of The System
Pioneering synth duo the System rode the '80s wave of emerging synth/MIDI music technology to help lay the foundation for contemporary electronic popular music with their upfront, unapologetic use of synths and intelligent songwriting.
In the early '80s, singer Mic Murphy and keyboardist David Frank met in New York. Collecting on studio time that he had bartered for in exchange for playing on sessions, Frank asked Murphy to join him in the studio to work on some ideas. After their overnight session, Murphy took the master tape to an engineer friend that transferred the tape onto a 12" lacquer record. The duo took the record to Atlantic's Mirage Records and were signed right away.
Their 1982 single "You Are in My System" quickly became the rage on both the dancefloor and on urban-formatted radio, leading to the release of Sweat on Mirage/Atlantic. Other tracks from the album got dancefloor attention, such as "Sweat" and "I Can't Let Go." Their next album, X-periment, included the infectious "I Just Want to Make You Feel Good," the sweet ballad "Promises" b/w "X-periment," and the stunningly passionate "I Can't Take Losing You." In 1986, the duo performed the title album track/hit single "The Pleasure Seekers" on Miami Vice. The LP contained "Groove" precursor "This Is for You," which was the second single. 1987 was a great year for the System, giving them their biggest hit. The title track of their album Don't Disturb This Groove went to number one R&B and number three pop. The tune was also used as the basis of one of the last tracks released by Tupac Shakur. The next release, Midnight Lover, cracked the pop Top 20.
Their fresh approach put the System in high demand as producers, songwriters, and musicians. They can be heard on Chaka Khan's cover of Prince's "I Feel for You" and Mtume's "Juicy Fruit" (both million-sellers). The latter record was later used by the Notorious B.I.G. for his gold record "Juicy." The list continues with Phil Collins' "Sussudio," Angela Bofill's "Can't Slow Down," Pauli Carmen's "Dial My Number," Ashford & Simpson, and Jeff Lorber's "Step by Step." They contributed to the movie soundtracks for two Eddie Murphy blockbusters, Beverly Hills Cop and Coming to America (the title track went Top Ten pop). Even though it seemed that everyone wanted to work with the System, the pair decided not to spread themselves too thin and turned down a lot of offers. They opened their own recording studio called Science Lab Music.
1989's Rhythm & Romance ("Midnight Special," "Have Mercy," "Soul to Soul") was the duo's last album. During early 1991, Mic Murphy released a solo album on East West called Touch ("Fit to Be Tied"), which had a lot of System overtones. Frank did concert dates backing Annie Lennox during the recording of her Live in Central Park CD and video (Arista). He's also active in production, working with Omar, Dionne Farris, female pop vocal trio Wild Orchid, and Rebbie Jackson. Allmusic by Ed Hogan
Album: Sweat (1983)

01. Sweat
02. You Are in My System
03. It's Passion
04. Stand Up and Cheer
05. I Won't Let Go
06. Go For What U Know
07. Now I Am Electric

Album: X-Periment (1984)

01. I Wanna Make You Feel Good
02. Dangerous
03. Lollipops and Everything
04. Get Jumpin'
05. Escape
06. Promises Can Break
07. X-Periment
08. Bad Girl
09. I Can't Take Losing You

Album: The Pleasure Seekers (1985)

01. The Pleasure Seekers
02. It Takes 2
03. Big City Beat
04. Love Won't Wait For Lovin'
05. This Is For You
06. My Radio Rocks
07. Did In By A Friend
08. I Don't Run From Danger

Album: Don't Disturb This Groove (1987)
01. Don't Disturb This Groove
02. Come as You Are (Superstar)
03. Save Me
04. Heart Beat of the City
05. Groove (Instrumental)
06. Nighttime Lover
07. House of Rhythm
08. Didn't I Blow Your Mind
09. Soulboy
10. Modern Girl

Album: Rhythm And Romance (1989)

01. I'm About You
02. Soul To Soul
03. Wicked
04. Midnight Special
05. I Don'T Know How To Say
06. I Wanna Be Your Lover
07. You Got Me (Where You Want Me)
08. Have Mercy
09. Face The Music
10. Think About It
11. Guardian Angel
12. Diggin' Your Rhythm

Album: ESP (2000)

01. Heaven in Your Eyes
02. As God Is My Witness
03. Supernatural
04. Love's Deja Vu
05. Tell Me
06. Soul Food
07. Good as Gold
08. You Are in My System [Version]
09. Midnight Train
10. Hole in My Love
11. Can't Let You Go

Aucun commentaire:

Enregistrer un commentaire