jeudi 16 octobre 2014

Collection of Dayton

Collection of Dayton

Dayton was a post-disco funk band, formed in Dayton, Ohio, United States by Chris Jones (trumpet, keyboards, vocals) from the band Sun and Shawn Sandridge (guitar, vocals) from Over Night Low. Derrick Armstrong (vocals), Kevin Hurt (drums, percussion), Jennifer Matthews (vocals) and Rachel Beavers (vocals) completed the line up. Former Sun member Dean Hummons played the keyboards on the first two Dayton albums.The group signed to Liberty Records in 1980 and released their self-titled debut album which included the track "Eyes On You". Dayton toured with Ashford & Simpson, Quincy Jones and Stephanie Mills. They recorded a second Liberty album, Cutie Pie, in 1981. Guest musicians included James "Diamond" Williams, Keith Harrison, Clarence "Chet" Willis, Billy Beck, Wes Boatman and Vincent Andrews.
Dayton introduced Rahni Harris as vocalist/keyboard player on their third album, Feel The Music in 1983, which included "The Sound Of Music". "The Sound of Music" was their best known track in the UK, where it reached #75 in the UK Singles Chart for one week in late 1983.[1] The song "Love You Anyway" was produced by Zapp’s Roger Troutman. Harris did most of the songwriting and production. The group switched to Capitol Records in 1982 and delivered the successful album Hot Fun. This record included "Krackity-Krack" with a guest appearance by Bootsy Collins and their hit cover version of Sly Stone's "Hot Fun in the Summertime." They released their last album This Time in 1985, also produced by Harris. It did not match their previous efforts and marked the end of Dayton.

Album: Dayton (1980)

01. Dank
02. Eyes on You
03. Let Go
04. Tonight
05. Dayton (Jam)
06. Livin' for Today
07. So Glad
08. Daytime Friend

Album: Cutie Pie (1981)

01. Cutie Pie
02. One Day Or Another
03. You Lift Me
04. Wanna Be Your Man
05. Body Shaker
06. Fool Was He
07. Let Me Know
08. Piece Of The Rock
09. The Sound Of Music (Extended Remix) Bonus Track

Album: Hot Fun (1982)

01. Hot Fun In The Summertime
02. We Can't Miss
03. Patiently
04. Krackity-Krack
05. Meet The Man
06. Gunch
07. Never Repay Your Love
08. Movin' Up

Album: Feel The Music (1983)

01. Sound of Music
02. It Must Be Love
03. Out Tonight
04. So What
05. Love You Anyway
06. Caught in the Middle
07. Eyes
08. Promise Me
09. Lookin' Up

Album: This Time (1985)

01. Ordinary Girl
02. I've Got Me (Somebody To Love)
03. This Love Will Last
04. Nobody Else
05. Hang Out
06. This Time
07. Comin' To Get My Love
08. You Should Be Dancin'

1 commentaire: